FREE LEGAL AID

A site for free help-yourself legal resources

divorce

I've been married for 15yrs, but we haven't been together in any way for over 10yrs. can i get help with divorce? I currently have no income ...

State: 
Nebraska
Question: 
I've been married for 15yrs, but we haven't been together in any way for over 10yrs. can i get help with divorce? I currently have no income
Answer: 

To file for divorce in Nebraska, either you or your spouse must live in the state for at least one year before you file for divorce. To begin a divorce proceeding, file a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage with the District Court Clerk in your county of residence. As of 2012, you will be charged a filing fee of $92.00 to file your divorce petition. After you file for divorce and receive a case number, you must provide your spouse with a copy of all filed documents. This is referred to as service.

You can file for divorce without the assistance of a lawyer, or you can contact legal aid agencies in your area to see if you qualify for free or low-cost assistance due to your financial situation. However, be aware that if you file for divorce on your own, the District Court Clerk cannot help you complete any forms or offer legal advice. For a list of websites that may be able to help you, see http://nebraskaccess.ne.gov/legalaid.asp.

Attorney: 
elizabethcarlsen

Morgan Law Firm - Houston Divorce Office

The Morgan Law Firm Houston office focuses on providing the best possible representation to local Houston area family law and divorce clients.  The firm handles cases in both Harris County and Fort Bend County.

weblinks Morgan Law Firm

http://www.houstondivorce.com
places Location

Morgan Law Firm Houston Office

24 Greenway Plaza, Suite 1115
Houston, Texas, 77046
United States
Phone: 713-840-9669

Javascript is required to view this map.
Tools:
Rate this item:

Morgan Law Firm - Austin Divorce Office

The Morgan Law Firm Austin office focuses on provided the highest quality legal representation to family law and divorce clients in the Austin, Texas area.  This includes Travis County and Williamson County, as well as the surrounding counties in select cases.

weblinks Morgan Law Firm

http://morganlawaustin.com
places Location

Morgan Law Firm

4101 Parkstone Heights Dr., Ste. 250
Austin, Texas, 78746
United States
Phone: 512-551-0807

Javascript is required to view this map.
Tools:
Rate this item:

Can't Afford Divorce

State: 
Minnesota
Question: 
My husband is VERY verbally abusive and is an alcoholic. I need to get my 5 year old son away from him - as well as myself. However, I cannot afford an attorney..what can I do?
Answer: 

If you cannot afford to hire an attorney to represent you in a divorce, you can file for divorce on your own without legal assistance. However, there are many low cost legal aid agencies available that you may be eligible to use. For example, see http://www.lawhelpmn.org/about-us.

In addition, if your income is low, you may be able to waive the divorce filing fee by completing a fee waiver form and presenting it to the court clerk when you file your divorce paperwork. You may be eligible for the fee waiver if you receive public assistance, your income is at or below 125% of the federal poverty level or you can show that you do not have enough money to afford to pay the filing fee. While the waiver does not apply to any legal representation in your case, it will allow you to initiate your divorce case without the cost of a filing fee. After you present your paperwork to the clerk, the clerk will ask you to sign the waiver and will explain the procedure for presenting the waiver to the judge for approval.

For more information about getting relief from domestic violence, see http://www.freelegalaid.com/nav/minnesota/divorce-and-family-law/article/getting-relief-domestic-violence-minnesota.

Attorney: 
elizabethcarlsen

Waiting period in KY

State: 
Kentucky
Question: 
I separated from my wife in April and moved back to KY in June from WA. I became a KY citizen in AUG. Is there any way I can get the 180 day waiting period waved in KY. I would like to get divorced as soon as possible. We have no kids and no property together.
Answer: 

To file for divorce in Kentucky, you must live in the state for at least 180 days prior to filing for divorce. The 180 days establishes jurisdiction over the case and cannot be waived. In addition to the 180 day residency requirement, to be recognized as a Kentucky resident you must be registered to vote in Kentucky, possess a Kentucky driver’s license, pay Kentucky state taxes or currently stationed in the military in Kentucky for at least 180 days. Also, Kentucky requires the spouses to be separated for at least 60 days before filing for divorce. Since you and your spouse do not have children together and there is no property to distribute, it does not matter that your spouse does not live in Kentucky. For more information about filing for divorce in Kentucky, visit http://www.kyjustice.org/node/1610.
   

 

In contrast, Washington state does not have a residency requirement so if your spouse is still living in Washington, you may consider filing for divorce in that state. See http://www.freelegalaid.com/nav/washington/divorce/article/grounds-divorce-washington for information about the available grounds, or reasons, for filing for divorce in Washington.

Attorney: 
elizabethcarlsen

I need help finding the paperwork for divorce with a child. I need custody ...

State: 
Florida
Question: 
I need help finding the paperwork for divorce with a child. I need custody of my daughter that im being refused to see right now
Answer: 

You can find the form to use to file for dissolution of marriage with a minor child at
http://www.flcourts.org/gen_public/family/forms_rules/901b1.pdf. However, filing for divorce can be a complicated process, and you may want to discuss your case with an experienced Florida family law attorney to protect your legal rights.

Attorney: 
elizabethcarlsen

Divorce, where do I begin

State: 
Alabama
Question: 
My wife and I have have decided to get a divorce after 19 years of marriage. I have moved out to my own place and I am still maintaining the mortgage and some bills at the house we lived in together. We have two children under the age of 18. She has not worked in years and curently does not work. I need to know what all she is entitled to and how much I have to take responsibilty for.
Answer: 

Alabama divides marital property following a divorce according to what is fair and equitable. However, what is fair and equitable is largely left up to the discretion of the judge and does not mean that the property will be distributed equally between the two spouses. The court will consider several factors when deciding which party should receive the property and each situation will be different according to the facts of the case.

For example, a judge will consider how long the spouses were married and the ability of either spouse to earn additional money in the future. In addition, the court will look at the age and health of each party and whether one spouse stayed home with the children, while the other worked full time. Since you have two children under the age of 18, the judge will have to determine custody for the children and you may be required to pay child support to your spouse. In addition, you may be required to pay spousal support or alimony in addition to child support. Contact a family law attorney in Alabama to discuss your case.

State to file for divorce? Transfering ownership of home?

State: 
South Carolina
Question: 
I was married 2 years ago in Michigan, but have lived in South Carolina for 4 months. Which state would I file in? I'm looking to file for divorce w/n the next few months. We have no children and have kept all financials separate. No joint bank accounts, credit cards, and/or retirement accounts. I am not on our home's mortgage, but am on the deed filed in Lancaster County. I don't wish to put a claim in on the home; I would quit claim deed full ownership back to him. I want no spousal support. I still have a MI driver’s license and am registered to vote there as well. My intention is to move back there soon. What state should I file in? How do I go about transferring full ownership of the home to him?
Answer: 

To file for divorce in South Carolina, you or your spouse must reside in the state for at least one year before you file for divorce. However, if both of you live in South Carolina, you only need to be a resident for three months for the South Carolina court to have jurisdiction over your divorce. If you plan on returning to Michigan and you do not plan on living in South Carolina for the next eight months, and you both have not lived in South Carolina for at least three month, you should file for divorce in Michigan.

To transfer ownership of your shared home to your spouse, you can give your spouse a quitclaim deed. A quitclaim deed does not make any guarantees regarding whether the title is free from liens, and therefore, is useful in a divorce proceeding. This means you will not be held liable if a problem arises with the property after your divorce. The quitclaim deed should include the address of the property and the property’s legal description. You should include both you and your spouse’s name on the deed and the deed should be filed in the county where the home is located.

Attorney: 
elizabethcarlsen

Subpoena delivery process in Connecticut

State: 
Connecticut
Question: 
Can a subpoena simply be left at front door on a Sunday at 12:00pm asking for a Monday 9:30am appearance? I thought these were required to be hand delivered to named party. Any help that you may afford me will be appreciated.
Answer: 

A subpoena for a witness is a request for the witness to appear before a court to testify. In Connecticut, a subpoena is signed by the clerk of court or a commissioner of the Superior Court, and must be served to the prospective witness by a person that is not a party to the action or an officer. The subpoena must be served on the prospective witness at least 18 hours prior to the time the witness is designated to appear in court. Subpoenas can be served either in person or left at the witness’ usual place of abode. Failure to appear at the stated date and time can have severe consequences. Therefore, if you are concerned about whether the method of service was proper, you should contact a Connecticut attorney as soon as possible.

Attorney: 
elizabethcarlsen
Syndicate content
Share this
Custom Search

MEMBER LOGIN