Area of Law:
If you have a new car that seems to need endless repairs, your car may be a lemon. Fortunately, Texas provides a legal remedy if your automobile fails to meet reasonable standards of quality and performance, called the lemon law. In addition to the state of Texas, the federal government has enacted lemon laws as well. The federal lemon law is referred to as the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, and it protects individuals of all states.
The lemon law of Fort Worth applies to new cars, trucks, motor homes, ATVs and motorcycles. If you own a used vehicle, the lemon law Fort Worth may apply to your vehicle if the vehicle is still under the manufacturer’s original warranty. In addition, the vehicle must be either purchased or leased from a Texas licensed dealership to be protected by the lemon laws of Fort Worth.
Texas law uses three tests to determine whether your vehicle is a lemon. First, if repairs for your vehicle have been necessary twice within the first 12 months or 12,000 miles of ownership and you take the vehicle for repairs twice more within the 12 months or 12,000 miles after the first repair attempt and your vehicle still has problems, your vehicle may satisfy the four times test and may be declared a lemon. In addition, if you take your vehicle to repair a major safety issue on the vehicle twice within 24,000 miles or 24 months, whichever occurs first, and your vehicle is still not repaired, the vehicle may satisfy the serious safety hazard test and may be declared a lemon. Finally, if your car is out of service for a total of 30 days or more during the first 24 months or 24,000 miles and two repair attempts were made within the first 12,000 miles and a substantial issue still exists, you may pass the 30 day test and your vehicle may be declared a lemon.
The lemon law Fort Worth applies when an issue arises with your vehicle that the manufacturer is unwilling to repair, or if numerous repairs have failed to fix the problem. For example, if the manufacturer does not honor the warranty and refuses to pay for repairs for your vehicle, you can file a complaint against the manufacturer with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. However, you must file a lemon law complaint with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles within six months of the expiration of the dealer’s warranty, 24 months or 24,000 miles from the date you received the vehicle.
The automobile’s warranty can be very confusing and it is best to seek legal assistance to determine the extent of the warranty. Therefore, consider hiring a Fort Worth attorney experienced in lemon law Fort Worth to assist you with any legal action you choose to take against the car’s manufacturer. If you have questions about your legal rights and you need help finding an attorney in Fort Worth, contact the State Bar of Texas http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/State_Bar_of_Texas. Also, you can find more information about the lemon law Fort Worth by visiting the Better Business Bureau’s website http://www.bbb.org/us/texas-lemon-law/.